Missouri Felony & Misdemeanor Range of Punishment
If you are criminally charged, then you face either a felony or a misdemeanor. Felonies are crimes that are considered more serious in nature and misdemeanors considered less serious (although some domestic abuse and assault crimes are misdemeanors yet marijuana possession over 35 grams is a felony, but no system is perfect).
If convicted of a felony or misdemeanor your freedom could be affected. The following is a guide to Missouri criminal punishment ranges and examples of crimes associated with that level felony:
· Class A Felony -- 10 to 30 years or life imprisonment
o Example: Murder, serious sex crimes, serious assaults, drug crimes committed by protected locations, robbery.
· Class B Felony – 5 to 15 years
o Example: First degree assault- knowingly causing serious harm, drug distribution, first degree domestic assault, voluntary manslaughter.
· Class C Felony – 3 to 10 years
o Example: Involuntary manslaughter, fraud, lesser sex crimes.
· Class D Felony – 1 to 7 years or up to 1 year in the County Jail and/or up to a $10,000.00 fine.
o Example: Drug Possession, unlawful Use of a weapon, passing a bad check, aggravated DWI.
· Class E Felony – 1 to 4 years, or up to 1 year in the County Jail and/or up to a $10,000.00 fine.
o Example: Third Degree Assault, 3rd DWI, harassment.
Many factors determine how much of the time you will actually serve in the Missouri Department of Corrections (DOC). Some of those factors being:
o If the offense is considered a dangerous crime
o If a weapon is involved
o The number of prior felony convictions
o The number of prior DOC commitments
o Behavior once in DOC
Misdemeanors do not provide the risk of becoming a customer of the Department of Corrections; however, misdemeanor crimes can provide time in the County Jail. And County jails are not known for their hospitality either. Misdemeanors also typically carry a fine if you do avoid jail time.
· Class A Misdemeanor – up to 1 year in the County Jail and/or a
fine of up to $2,000.
· Class B Misdemeanor – up to 6 months in the County Jail and/or a fine of
up to $1,000.
· Class C Misdemeanor – up to 15 days in the County Jail and/or a fine of up to
· Class D Misdemeanor – a fine of up to $500. Infraction – a fine of up to $400.00.
If you or someone you know is facing a criminal charge, then their life and fundamental freedoms are at stake. Call us today if you need help and to schedule a FREE consultation.
Kansas City Area: 816-503-6739
Joplin Area: 417-553-4353